… then listen again …

Edited by Kunstmuseum Solothurn.
With an essay by Christoph Vögele.
Design: Hans-Dirk Hotzel und Andrea Wolfensberger.
Hardcover, 17 x 24 cm.
72 pages (incl. one work on transparent paper).
April 2011
ISBN 978-3-907474-96-9
CHF 24.– / EUR 19.–

The words, sounds and movements, the statements of writers and musicians that often appear in Andrea Wolfensberger’s installations and sculptures are condensed into compelling Gesamtkunstwerks. The title “… then listen again …” quotes Samuel Beckett, and according to Christoph Vögele, the exhibition not only suggests a communicative exchange between sender and receiver but also repetition in time. Notions of landscape and sound merge in Wolfensberger’s images; her existentially underpinned oeuvre resembles a musical interpretation, for instance when she arrests the film of a garden, converts it into painting and, by thus ‘immortalizing’ it, emphasizes the accessibility of the rendering.